UncleQ

New to leather and want to make a holster

This may have already been answer and I just over looked it but I am new to working with leather. Just had ankle surgery and will be out of work for a while so my wife decided I needed a hobby lol. Anyways we purchased some leather and a few tools today but I don't really know how to get everything started. I have an idea of the type of holster I want to make just wondering if there are patterns out there to help get me started or is it just a make it as you go kinda thing. I am attaching a picture of the style I want to make. I found this one for sell for about $150 and figured I could make it myself for less and have something to do instead of watching tv waiting on it to come in the mail. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. 

image.png

Uncle Q, this is a candid and well meant answer. What you are asking is akin to someone writing a book. I would suggest that you go to the Tandy website. They have all kinds of videos. And, of course, YouTube. Searching for information is like networking. One video will create a need to find other videos.

I don't hand stitch and I don't want to. But to get a proper and good looking stitch, you will spend some time learning.

This site is a wonderful site that allows us to post different ways to do leather. But the posts are tips and information on pieces of the construction such as burnishing, dyeing, conditioning, sewing, and other specific areas.

I am not brushing you aside. I harassed a few members when I started a few years ago. Still do sometimes:).

Don't give up. It is a very satisfying hobby/business. Until you meet "that" customer:).

https://www.tandyleather.com/en/free-leathercraft-instructional-videos.html

If you can visit your local Tandy Leather store.  Most often they hold classes and are a wealth of knowledge.