Horsewhishper

How to draw floral designs

Hey guys , So my question is pretty straight forward, how do you draw Western floral designs for belt, holster, purses, etc. Any help would be appreciated look forward to learning. 

Big cheat; get the Tandy Craftaids. They have them all drawn out. Also Tandy have a 'library' where you can buy older designs. Prices are from $0.00 upwards. These come to you as PDF files. With these you can resize and squeeze or expand in your computer to suit your item, then print out, trace over on your item then go to work on it. It suits me cos I'm no artist

Floral design craftaid example;

https://www.tandyleather.eu/en/product/floral-keycase-belt-craftaid

from the 'library';

https://www.leathercraftlibrary.com/p-1743-sheridan-floral-corner-and-belt-pattern-by-jim-linnell.aspx

https://www.leathercraftlibrary.com/p-1739-2681-floral-belt-craftaid-tracing.aspx

Well, I'll tell you from experience it isn't easy and takes practice. BUT, there are a few publications. First, Bob park (our resitent hidepounder on here) has a book called "creating Western floral design" all I can say is get it. It's awesome. 

Second, Don gonzalez has an ebook on his website about the topic. It goes into good detail on the subject. This too is worth the money... And there a supplementary one on belts... Here you go https://dgsaddlery.com/product-category/ebooks-available/

Lastly, but not leastly... Pete gorrell has a book also. "Floral pattern drawing for the artistically impaired." It is also good bit somewhat different from the others. 

Bob and Dons books resemble the more aheridan style where Pete's book is more traditional. Bit, who is to say you ain't can mix em and match em right? 

I'm sure there are other resources, but these seemed to help me a bit... Now if I could just help myself haha