This is my 4th wallet and I wanted to try a Roper. This is my first time tooling anything, and I practiced on some scrap for about 30 minutes before diving into this. I did notice a missed stitch, which I am going to pick up...dang it! I would welcome all critique....it is the only way to grow. Is this a marketable product? I am thinking of asking $75, but I might be crazy. Your help is greatly appreciated!

post-60097-0-27147200-1427671244_thumb.j

post-60097-0-78586500-1427671274_thumb.j

:thumbsup: Nice!

You don't place the stamp end to end, you overlap a basketweave stamp. I think there's a tutorial or two on the site somewhere.

I really like the color. What did you dye it with?

The dye is "professional water stain / light brown"....Tandy stuff. Thanks for basket weave advice...I watched the Tandy tutorials with the old guy, but I will try to find the tut's on the leatherworkers site. Thanks guys

The way I did the basket weave was to draw a line down the middle on a diagonal, then stamp above the line in the middle. Next I went below the line and put the end of the stamp nest to the end of tha stamp on the top line

If you follow the basket weave video on the Tandy sight this stamp should look like this. This is Craftool Pro Stamp X2840 and is longer than some of the others. I have this same stamp and sometimes I like to use the wide spacing like you did on your wallet (especially when I have a large area to cover and I don't feel a tight weave is necessary...or I feel lazy). Another way I use this is to overlap the ends as stated by Jaymack. This will make the cross section with the knot work a little more evenly spaced and symmetrical.