sharkeyfinn

Leather And Tool Suppliers In England

evening all, im an absolute newbie here, i dont have ant tools or anything yet,the only thing i do have is enthusiasm to get started, however, i lve on the south coast of england(dorset) and i really dont know quite how to proceed, i was thinking of buying a kit from tandy,but that then lleads to the problem of continuing with further projects of my own,if anyone can guide me in the right direction i would be most grateful. ;-)

First get an idea of what kind of projects you want to do. Search the web and espscially this site for how to for the project you want to do. This will give you an idea of what you will need. Get some of the basic Al Stohlman books espescially the his book on stitching. Also go to Ian Atkinson's (Leodis Leather) Home page

ianatkinson.net he has several videos and tutorials. He also has some you tube videos under Leodis Leather. There are many how to videos on Tandy's site some free and some you pay aa fee to access the premium videos. Once you decide on the type of project you want to do come back to this site find the apropriate forum and post questions. People will be happy to give you an idea of the tools and supplies you will need. Tandy starter kits can be a good way to get a start but it really depends on what you want to do.

Edited by camano ridge

^ what he said. Ian atkinson is great - also watch the nigel armitage video on saddle stitching!

I started with a craft knife, steel ruler, and some crappy nylon thread and glover's needles from the local stitch shop. Good enough to make my first watch strap though.

I bought a couple of veg-tan grade 3 kip sides (077) from http://www.leprevo.co.uk. Because it's cheap (for leather), I wasn't worried about making a mistake - and there are plenty of small projects where you can cut around the marks and scars.

I used the offcuts to practice cutting and skiving.