NoLifeTilLeather

Please help me sharpen this curved blade

I am not good at sharpening things in the first place (trying to get better), but can anyone give me tips on sharpening a blade with this shape? I tried sharpening it on a stone and it got worse, so clearly I’m doing something wrong. I’m just mangling it and I love using this knife. (Used to, anyway—and hope to again.)

There seems to be a different curve to the blade (bowing?) to where it doesn’t make total contact with the stone while the ends make contact. Not sure if that’s apparent in the pic. 

Any tips or advice would be much welcome, thanks. I do not know what I’m doing. 

IMG_4491.jpeg

IMG_4490.jpeg

IMG_4494.jpeg

What you have there is a clicker knife, which is a traditional type of knife used in leatherwork. It has the cutting edge on the inside of the blade, so it can't be sharpened on a flat stone

Instead you must use a round sharpening stone or similar that fits within the curve of the blade. The easiest & cheapest way to do this would be to wrap or glue fine wet & dry paper around something like a wooden dowel or a broom handle or a length of copper water pipe; or just round off the edge of a small flat length of wood. Depending on how blunt the blade is, start with 400 grit and work your way in increments up to about 1500 grit. Finish by stropping - to make a round strop glue  about 1,5 mm leather around the same sort of wood or pipe, with the rough/flesh side outwards; green chromium dioxide stropping compound is as good as any, and a small bar will last for ages.

I haven't been able to find a YouTube video on sharpening a clicker knife, but if you Search YT for 'how to sharpen a spoon carving knife' or 'how to sharpen a crook knife', which also has a curved blade, there are several videos and you'll see something similar, like this video at about 12 mins.