AlainaZ

How to support a long, thin tool case?

I am making a travel case for my sewing & patternmaking supplies. I would like to use a medium weight leather to cut down on weight. The dimensions are width 24.5", height 14.5", depth 3.5". It will fully open with a zipper. 

I am concerned about how long the case is, I'm guessing it will probably collapse on itself, and so I was thinking of making two channels on either side of the top long edge and inserting metal rods. 

I'm wondering if anyone has any other ideas? Metal rods seem a little weird, but I'm new to bag making and wondering if there are materials/solutions I don't know about. The dimensions have to stay the same but I'm open to any other design changes. 

PXL_20240131_013203258.jpg

Nothing weird about putting metal rods in. And nothing new about it either. Its been done before and some of the top quality bags in the past used them

Use aluminium rods rather than steel. You could even use square cut rods. Or wood boards, they could help take the handles on the top

1 minute ago, fredk said:

Nothing weird about putting metal rods in. And nothing new about it either. Its been done before and some of the top quality bags in the past used them

Use aluminium rods rather than steel. You could even use square cut rods. Or wood boards, they could help take the handles on the top

^ yes

Have you thought about using  one piece of metal rod to make three sides so the bag doesn't collapse on itself when you set it down? Make a form to bend the metal around so it's not crooked and then sew it all in.

How about fiberglass rods?

Bamboo is another option as well. Extremely light, yet strong & flexible to some extent. 

If the case is lined you could use a stiffener between the leather and lining. Springfield sells bontex in sheets 48x60 in various thicknesses.

If you aren't lining the case you can cover the bontex with fabric and make it a tight fit and press it in each side.