Sixer

Requests For "testers"

So with my new sewing machine on the way I've decided to do a little extra marketing and advertising on a few small gun forums. While it has generated quite a few orders, I have a request or two for "testers".

Now it's one thing for a customer to place an order and then make sure to let me know that he "knows a lot of people with guns"... as if maybe he should get a slight discount... because "people with guns" are hard to come by, haha.

I recently received an e-mail from a gentleman "offering" to test out my holsters if I sent him a freebie. The e-mail read a little something like this -

" I seen your post, and if you are looking for a few holster testers i would surely be interested.

I know a lot of people with guns and frequent the local gun shops

here so I could probably get you some business..."

I'm fairly new at this compared to most of you, so I'm sure you guys get requests like this from time to time. I just thought it was kind of funny.

My reply -

"I appreciate the offer. Since each holster is handmade to order, I

don't really have any in stock to send you... and with a lead time of

about 4 weeks on current orders, I just don't have the time or

resources to send out any more 'testers'. But rest assured, my

holsters have been put through the gauntlet by myself, various LEO's,

CCW instructors, and others! If you're interested, I just posted a

rough price list so feel free to place an order and we can

get something nice worked up for you!"

I wanted to be polite, but let him know that I'm not really in the habit of sending out free holsters to random people. Now if Massad Ayoob want's a free holster to review, no problem! Otherwise, you gotta PAY to play ;)

Anyway, that's my rant... Just thought i'd share. Do you guys get this a lot? What are your thoughts?