Hello, saddlemakers!

I need some advice on where to get a good wade tree. I've been looking into building a wade saddle for myself but since I've never built a saddle before I wanted to know where I can get a good quality wade tree for a decent price. Any recommendations are greatly appreciated! 

Thank you!

-Ryan

Good luck with that project. Sounds like fun. I can't help, but I'm sure there are others who can.

What do you feel is a decent price?  You kind of get what you pay for with saddle trees.   Even halfway decent production trees are $300-$400 anymore.  The handmade trees seem to start around $600.  I think the next handmade tree I order, I'm going to give Dusty Smith of WYO Custom Saddles a shot.  He trained under Rod Nikkel, and I've liked what I've seen from him so far.  But there are many good makers out there.  Otherwise, I have bought several production trees from Timberline and been fairly pleased.  Their trees are a little "neater" and the rawhiding a little nicer than the other production companies.

Sonny Felkin at Quality MFG makes some nice wade trees.  Rawhide work is very nice.  He is an older guy that is a wealth of information. Not the cheapest for  sure.  But worth the price.

3 hours ago, Big Sioux Saddlery said:

What do you feel is a decent price?  You kind of get what you pay for with saddle trees.   Even halfway decent production trees are $300-$400 anymore.  The handmade trees seem to start around $600.  I think the next handmade tree I order, I'm going to give Dusty Smith of WYO Custom Saddles a shot.  He trained under Rod Nikkel, and I've liked what I've seen from him so far.  But there are many good makers out there.  Otherwise, I have bought several production trees from Timberline and been fairly pleased.  Their trees are a little "neater" and the rawhiding a little nicer than the other production companies.