genesis

Is there a reason I dont see this contact adhesive mentioned?

Hello all, 

Loving the forum! My question is a pretty basic one. My background is auto upholstery, so leatherwork like most do here is a new territory for me. Basically, i see a ton of adhesives mentioned here, with barge and weldwood being mentioned predominantly (id like to try barge, it sounds great). But why is DAP WELDWOOD landau top solvent based contact adhesive not mentioned? In auto upholstery, its generally known to be the absolute best adhesive to be used to bond material including leather (at least in the USA), wIth regular Weldwood being pretty unsatisfactory. Is there a property that makes it unsuitable for leather goods making outside of automotive use? Just want to make sure im not missing something, as im getting ready to try and branch out into making some small stuff for personal use.

I am not much help as Barge cement has always been my go-to. It is an excellent product and not only on leather. I have also used Pliobond for other substances in my working days and believe it would most likely equal Barge although I have never used it on leather. I am just about out of of Barge and it is only available locally in small tubes.   I am considering trying out the Pliobond as I can pick up a small can with a brush applicator inside just to compare the two. The cement you mentioned is unknown to me.

Edited by doubleh

Quick look at DAP website mentions the high heat resistance of the landau ,which is not needed in most leather projects .  That might be the reason it's not mentioned (used ) much , just a guess on my part .

Barge is the best contact cement used with barge thinner it the best, applied right and nothing is stronger . Master bond is also very good on par with Barge . To me nothing works better than these for contact cement so there's not much point in looking all this IMHO .

5 hours ago, genesis said:

Hello all,