Hey guys,

I have a customer who is used to cloth purses with plastic zipper. The ease of zip is very important for her. I have only used YKK zippers so far, and they can be a little rough. Using Riri zippers is a bit of an investment (buy the tools, by the tape), and I've never used one before, so I don't know if the experience would be up to her expectations.

Alternately, I'm considering a delrin zipper, but I don't want to put in a zipper that won't last as long as the bag.

Any help or experience would be appreciated.

Would a pull on the zipper help her?

I put a pull on the YKK zippers, and they still are sketchy. They catch. Nylon zippers zip like butter, but the YKK ones I bought are rough.

For reference, I put a longer, loose pull on at first, and it worked really badly. Then I put a stiff wood pull on it and that worked much better. But it's still not very smooth. Maybe the size I bought is too big?

post-38542-0-40196100-1422632494_thumb.jpost-38542-0-77850100-1422632493_thumb.j

Have you tried lubricating the zippers? Use either paraffin or beeswax. Rub it on the zipper, them zip and unzip a few times to work it in and spread it.

I think it also helps to use a longer zipper with an inch or so buried behind the gusset. I think it makes a smoother transition. Also when installing, pin at the centre on both sides, and work to both ends when fitting the gusset. Glue or staple in place, then stitch. You should be able to test the fit before doing the stitching to make sure it is nicely aligned.

Tom

Hey Tom,

No, I've never tried lubricating the zippers. I had no idea that was a thing! I'll definitely try that out on the ones I have. I'll try working outwards from the middle. Usually, I cut a slot in the leather, glue the zipper in flat (with it closed) and stitch, also stitching down the ends of the tape. Is that incorrect?

(The attached picture is for a zipper pocket, not a gusset)post-38542-0-78730100-1422638282_thumb.j