JiffyJones

No idea what I'm doing, but happy to be here!

Greetings from Dallas, TX!

I'm a graphic designer/illustrator by day and freelance by night. Recently I was commissioned to create some masquerade masks, and decided in my infinite wisdom to suddenly (and on a week deadline) hurl myself into learning an expensive, intricate, and time consuming craft that I know nothing about. A relative helped with some basic advice and sending me a big ol' box of scraps (I will likely post pictures asking what on earth I'm supposed to do with each kind), and this forum/youtube helped with the rest!

So after much panicking and muttering of the ancient incantation "pleaseletthiswork", I miraculously finished these on time. One is a moth and the other an owl; tooled, burnished with saddle soap, painted, and sealed.

Now I have a handful of tools and a shoulder of tooling leather (6-7 weight) that I bought out of sugar induced excitement, but I don’t know where to go from here! I would love to try making a small tooled bag next, because I’m clearly a masochist.

Suggestions/thoughts are always appreciated!

P.S. Ignore the creepy purple light, I swear I don't live in a bordello

20171130_225946.jpg

20171130_232515.jpg

Thank you for the inspiration. I've wanted to do masks. Did you just shape them or use a mold? you've got a niche. Others will tell you how to perfect the craft, I can just tell you the artisanship is incredible!

18 minutes ago, Mjolnir said:

Thank you for the inspiration. I've wanted to do masks. Did you just shape them or use a mold? you've got a niche. Others will tell you how to perfect the craft, I can just tell you the artisanship is incredible!

Oh wow, thank you so much! 

The first prototype was made out of paper towels and sharpie so I could bend it over their features and find a shape for each of their faces. After tooling, they were soaked and molded to their faces, with some exaggeration here and there.