livewire516

Diamond chisel - each side separately or through both?

I've seen/read instruction to use a diamond chisel much like a pricking iron: chisel each piece separately, then join them together for stitching.

I've also been instructed to glue both pieces of leather together, then strike the diamond chisel through both pieces at once.

I'm left with the impression that the first technique will result in a finer end product, while the latter technique is easier. That being said, I'm a novice and I'd like the community's input as to which method they use, and why.  Are their certain use-cases where one is necessary? (ex. when both faces are effectively show faces, I'd imagine you ought to use the first technique).

I'm looking forward to any guidance on the matter.

It depends on what the total thickness is with the pieces glued together.

If the chisel will go through all of the pieces at once, then glue them together and do it that way.

If the combined pieces are thicker than the chisel will penetrate, then you'll have to chisel them separately.

In my opinion, going through all of the layers at once will give better accuracy. That's IF the chisel will go through all at once. Chiseling the pieces separately and then getting all the holes to line up when you put it all together can be somewhat challenging. But certainly doable. There are several ways to accomplish that.

You can't use a chisel on both good sides and put them together with both good sides out. The chisel holes will be oriented in opposite directions. Best to do both layers at once.