MaliMac

Newbie needs help getting a neglected Seiko Stw 8b up and running

Hi! I'm totally new to this machine- I usually sew for a sheepskin tannery on the isle of Skye in Scotland using a one thread overlocker, and at home using domestic machines. My workplace is shut indefinitely due to bleedin covid19, but they've given me loan of a Seiko Stw 8b to see if I can make use of it if and when I go back. I've looked at several grainy manuals online for it, and I think I've neeeaarrly got it going... Its been sitting untouched in an office for ages so I've oiled it, changed the needle- I'm worried I've made a mistake somewhere threading it, and also worried the timing might be out maybe- if it was one of my machines at home I would change the needle and rethread.. any advice would be amazing! I've attached pictures of the wonky stitching and my probably wonky threading. Cheers! 

20200527_111553.jpg

Hi Mac, welcome to the forum. Your place of work sounds fascinating, I'd love to hear more about it and maybe visit one day when this kerfuffle calms down.

Looks like your'e nearly there, but have too large a needle for your thread (or too skinny a thread for the needle). That's what's giving you the "spaghetti down a manhole" look, and probably your stitch skipping, since the thread needs to have some friction inside the hole to form a loop for the hook to grab.

What are you intending to sew? The largest thread you'd want to put through a STW-8 with any regularity is TKT20/V138, which is available in nylon, polyester and various polycotton mixes. For reference, the gold topstitch thread on a pair of jeans is usually a soft-laid TKT30 polycotton (one size smaller than TKT20), and 18/3 linen thread is one size larger (TKT13).