BMH

Sharpening a Japanese type skiving knife with DMT Whetstone

Hi there,

I have what will most likely seem like a silly question to many but I am still learning the craft and don't have much experience with sharpening.

I have recently bought a DMT diamong stone to sharpen my knifes and it's been great, except for my Japanese skiving knife. I am not sure of how I should be sharpening it on the stone. In the past I just used a wet stone and would go up and down with my blade in a straight motion like this. However, all I have achieved doing this with this specific knife on the diamond stone is to make it dull.

I have then switched to moving the blade from one corner of the stone to another in this kind of motion:

1.thumb.jpg.d2b0113706aef978bfbd507cd8cd5f0e.jpg
This works fairly well, but I am not sure it's the best way of doing it as I have been told I should pass the blade on the stone in this way instead (the blade is parallel to the stone and goes up and down)

2.thumb.jpg.a4699e073cfcaf16bbed6857ad75fda0.jpg

What would you guys recommend?
(By the way my stone is a fine one, I am just using this picture of a coarse one for the sake of illustrating my question). 

could use a refresher, too.  

19 minutes ago, Hardrada said:

Are you keeping the angle consistent?

Well, I try to keep the angle as consistent as possible. Like I said, I don't have a lot of experience when it comes to sharpening so my movements aren't perfect yet, but I try to watch the angle as closely as I can.

What does the edge look like?