SUP

Aluminium handle on hand-made knife.

I bought a hand-made round knife on a whim, as it was reasonably priced. It is wicked sharp right out of the box and it does not appear to have been recently sharpened or stropped.

It has a flat Aluminium handle and I am concerned it might slip when I am using it. I would like to wrap it in leather. I am not sure of the type of leather to use. It has to be soft enough to wrap. Will chrome-tanned leather work or will it damage the Aluminium in the long run? Has anyone had experience with that metal encased in Chrome-tanned leather?

If not chrome-tanned leather, what other type of leather would work for wrapping a knife handle? I have only just started leatherworking about 4 months ago so am still learning about the best uses for different leathers.

I know a wooden handle would be best but I have no experience in woodworking. So wrapping seems the best option.

I would appreciate some guidance on this.

I don't think you have to limit yourself to chrome tanned leather.  There's plenty of soft vegetable tanned leather.  Also, if you are concerned about a potential interaction you could always wrap the handle in tape before wrapping in leather.  That way the two, the aluminum and the leather are separate.  

You could also dip the handle in Plasti-Dip and then wrap.  I like the idea of using a leather wrap because, hey, that's what we do.

Another non-slip option is split or suede  or roughout veg tan .

IMG_2009.JPG

Yes. I agree. I like the idea of a leather wrap too, Tugadude. 

About the soft veg tanned leathers, I am not yet familiar with the different types. I have only come across the milled leather scraps from Tandy.  This is a chance to learn about them. I think I will call Springfield leather and discus it with them.