rockthecasbah121

Timing got off with reducer pulley!

So after a speed reducer we broker a needle and kept getting a couple of issues with the bottom thread. I looked at the motion of the machine without the belt on and can see the bobbin pushing the thread slightly to the left when it hits the bottom of the indent (Juki 5550).

As a total novice, how do I adjust this?

F76C7B34-D203-4252-A753-87E37DAE0775.jpeg

Is the needle fully home?

Does this machine have a safety clutch ?  Or maybe the needle bar got pushed up - It looks like the needle's a bit high, as the hook passes.

As best as I can see the hook looks to be in the scarf area. Though it may need to sit a bit lower, so the point is above the thread slot of the needle. 

As mentioned, and its happened to many the needle needs to be checked so its up in its mount fully. 

Good day

Floyd

Edited by brmax

You say your having issues with the bottom thread ? What do you mean & state size of thread & needle your using.

I'm just curious about your title, "Timing got off with reducer pulley!"

Please explain. This is like suggesting that putting a different size wheel on your car is making your pistons fire out of order. A different size wheel make make them move faster or slower but will not change their timing. If your machine timing is wrong with the reducer, it was wrong without it.

I'm assuming that that the hook's timing didn't stand a chance against the power of the speed reducer.

I can't find the DDL-5550 but I have a link that should work for a Juki DDL-8700 CLICK HERE.  Hook timing, needle distance to hook point, and needle bar height adjustments are all in there.