Don55

Handle reinforcement metal strip

Greetings.

I am new to serious Leathercraft, first time posting and still have a lot to learn (given that I am 65 doesn’t leave me a LOT of time to learn it!!) But I am having a devil of a time locating a piece of hardware for attaching rivets and chicago screws to in the tops of leather purses and briefcases. 

The piece I’m referring to is a thin metal strip about an inch wide and probably about 10 inches long. It gets sandwiched between the inner and outside layers of leather when attaching the handle to not only provide a secure means of attachment for the screws/riveting, but also stiffens and reinforces the top of the bag or case.

They exist, because I’ve seen them used, especially in high-end bags and cases. Bu I cannot locate a source for them anywhere!! I have googled every term I can think of and some my wife dreamed up, but no luck. I have called a couple of baggage parts suppliers and they don’t seem to have a clue as to what I’m talking about.

If anyone knows the proper name for these little guys and a source (preferably in the US if possible) you will have my eternal gratitude!!

Thanks a bunch for your help. 

Maybe check out Homedepot type store for some aluminum or metal flat stock and cut it to the length needed. That would be similar to what Klein uses in the tops of their canvas tool bags.

kgg

Aluminium would be better, or stainless steel , mild steel will eventually rust and discolour the leather..tanned ( chrome or veg ) leather has quite a lot of "active " chemicals and organic compounds in it..Aluminium is better than steel, stainless steel is best..

Even better is brass. Check out any shop catering to model makers and DiY for metals by K&S out of Chicago. They do a range of aluminium or brass strips and bars, mostly in 12 inch lengths but up to 36 inch is available. 

linky to K&S

http://www.ksmetals.com/

http://www.ksmetals.com/29.html