jenkins

Looking For Tips On Cutting Perfectly Square

Hi all, first time posting, so apologies in advance for what is surely duplicate content or some grand faux pas I don't have the context to realize I'm making :)

I'm just beginning to learn hand stitching, and while every single part of the process is challenging for me, the one I'm having particular trouble with is cutting perfectly straight and square into a piece of leather.

I've been lightly outlining a guide into my leather using a template and a scratching awl (I believe it's called) without too much issue. But when it comes time to cut, I have the hardest time keeping my straightedge from slipping as I cut with a utility knife. I've also tried using a knife that was recommended at Tandy but the utility knife seems to cut much better. Does anyone have any best practices for keeping the straight edge on the leather without it slipping?

Additionally, once I do get a somewhat square piece of leather cut, and I fold it over to punch holes into it (using a pricking iron / punching iron / four pronged sharp thing) the leather has a tendency to skew and the pieces become mis-aligned and I end up ruining the whole project by punching holes bad holes into the project.

Any tips on those two particular issues would be very much appreciated. Thanks!

The issue is more around keeping the straight edge from moving, I'm not sure a rotary cutter would change that much.

Yeah, I have a really nice Gingher rotary cutter and it doesn't work for $#@# on cutting a straight line on my leather. I have the same problem with the utility knife too. I usually end up scoring it with the utility knife and then bending it and cutting the rest of the way. (This is with a brand new blade also, so it's not that.)

I should probably just invest in a good round knife and be done with it...maybe if someone would ever buy any of my stuff, I'll be able to invest in such things. :(