Deryk

Cylinder Arm vs Flat bed

Hello folks, I am starting to look seriously for a machine, hoping to have it by the end of January/beginning of February.  I am a Hobbyist,  I like making leather journal covers, but really want to make leather backpacks and messenger bags and old world style leather duffel bags/weekend away sized bags.  Mostly hand stitching I have been working with oil tanned leather in the 5 oz range but I read I should be using vegtan 7 oz or so...I guess both have their pluses.  I need to keep the budget under 2k.  A few models I have considered are the Cowboy CB3200, and Springfield leather has a Cobra 20 that sounds spec wise similar to the cb3200 but only goes up to 207 size thread.  I guess with the cb3200 and the flat bed attachment would give more options and more thread sizes for the future.  Any other suggestions?  I saw in a posting a person here made a leather and denim backpack on a cb4500 and she said she at a few times had almost half an inch of material under the presserfoot... so I don't want anything too small but can't justify a cb4500 right now lol...maybe once I start making some extra money lol.

I would consider this machine to be a good in between  machine. Can do pretty heavy but fairly light as well and has a good narrowed cylinder edge that would allow

tighter gussets and such than the bigger machines. Needle not over long and thus less needle deflection problems as well. http://www.solar-leather.com/cowboy-cb341/

I don't see it mentioned much and I'm not sure why? The price looks bloody good to me as well....

Only goes to 138 thread it says though.

Edited by RockyAussie
Missed a point.